The Mary E. Spencer Award | Le Prix Mary E. Spencer

Established 2018/Fondée en 2018

The Mary E. Spencer Award was established to recognize outstanding research in the field of plant biology and active public service engagement in the plant biology community by a mid-career researcher. This award honours two facets of the exceptional career of Professor Mary Spencer (Professor Emeritus, University of Alberta):

Outstanding research contributions to the field of ethylene production in plants. Professor Spencer was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in 1976 and received the CSPP Society Medal in 1991.

Distinguished public service to the plant biology community. Professor Spencer chaired several CSPP committees and served as Western Regional Director in 1964, Vice-president in 1970, and President in 1971. She also served two terms on the National Research Council and the National Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada.

Professor Spencer’s exceptional career was further honoured by an Order of Canada in 2001 and Queen Elizabeth II Silver (1997), Golden (2002) and Diamond (2012) Jubilee Medals.

Donations to the scholarship are welcome, and may be made here. Donations are tax-deductible.

Le prix Mary E. Spencer a été créé pour récompenser un chercheur en milieu de carrière pour des contributions exceptionnelles à la recherche en biologie végétale et pour une participation active en service publique relié à la biologie végétale. Ce prix a été appuyé par un don très généreux de la famille Spencer.

Ce prix honore deux facettes de la carrière exceptionnelle du professeure Mary Spencer (professeure émérite, Université de l’Alberta):

Contributions exceptionnelles à la recherche dans le domaine de la production d'éthylène chez les plantes. Professeure Spencer a été élue membre de la Société royale du Canada en 1976 et a reçu la médaille de la Société CSPP/SCPV en 1991.

Service publique distingué envers la communauté de la biologie végétale. La professeure Spencer a présidé plusieurs comités du CSPP/SCPV et a été directeur régional de l’Ouest en 1964, vice-présidente en 1970 et présidente en 1971. Elle a également été membre du Conseil national de recherches et du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada.

La carrière exceptionnelle du professeure Spencer a été honorée par l’Ordre du Canada en 2001 et les médailles du jubilé de la reine Elizabeth II d’argent (1997), d’or (2002) et de diamant (2012).

Les dons peuvent à la bourse sont bienvenues et peuvent être fait ici et sont deductible d'impot.

Former Award Recipients

© Canadian Society of Plant Biologists

Corporate Sponsors

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software